Home > AFA > MEC > Local Councils > Council 6 - Newark

Council 6 - Newark

About Council 6

Representing United Airlines Flight Attendants based at EWR. Local CWA #21005

Stand Up for Our Contract! (Sep 22, 2018)

Council Office

Shaun McNulty

Shaun McNulty

LEC President
Kim Montgomery

Kim Montgomery

LEC Vice President
Pamela Caponetti

Pamela Caponetti

LEC Secretary
Susannah Carr

Susannah Carr

Council Representative
Laverne Nelson

Laverne Nelson

Council Representative

Stand Up for Our Contract! (Sep 22, 2018)

Dear Members of Council 6,

The last week has been anything but smooth. In the middle of the fiasco of CCS the company put out a new "policy" that we can only assume they had hoped would go by unnoticed amongst the chaos. Well it didnt, hasn't and cannot go on as published.

In case you haven't seen or heard about this new Enhanced Staffing Guideline posted in the Policy and Procedures section of flying together let us explain. The company has decided to implement a "policy" that allows scheduling to convert a deadheading flight attendant to a working crew member at will to " enhance staffing". This was contractual language in the pre merger UAL world but it is NOT what was negotiated, agreed upon or voted for during ratification. The language for order of assignment in the JCBA was primarily taken from the PMUA contract but the language of coverting deadheading flight attendants ( Section 9.I.1 ) was removed.  This was a common question during roadshows and was explicitly stated it was not a practice going forward at common metal. Yet, here we are. 

The company is trying to change our contractual rights before the first day of common metal!!

If "enhanced" staffing is important enough then the company should change the crew complements and add the positions to the bidding process.

We hope at this point you are asking " What can I do??" It is very simple. Make your voice heard to the very people who made this decision. Do you remember that  new " incentive" program the company tried to roll out? Remember the outrage? Remember how the employees of United Airlines got them to sit up , take notice and pull back? We need to speak up now! Loudly! Your MEC has addressed this with the company but imagine what 25,000 voices can do over one?!

Write , call, MAKE YOUR VOICES HEARD!! Stand together as one group and we can make a statement they should not ignore. Let our CEO, President and Senior VP of Inflight know they cannot violate our contract!

United emails are firstname.lastname@united.com. Phone numbers can be found in flying together, org chart with their names.

Stand together, stand strong. 

In Solidarity,

Shaun, Kim and Pam

 


Additional Council Information

The information below is maintained and updated by your Local Council.

Shaun McNulty 

President 
smcnultyewr@gmail.com
833-AFAEWR6 ext 710

Kim Montgomery

Vice President
kmontgomery@unitedafa.org
833-AFAEWR6 ext 711

Pam Caponetti

Secretary
pcaponettiewr@gmail.com
833-AFAEWR6 ext 712

Help Line: 833-AFAEWR6 or 833-232-3976

 Extensions:

EAP/PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS 0
Safety, Health and Security Committee 1
Occupational/OJI Benefits 2
pmCO Reserve Committee 3
pmUA Reserve Committee 4
pmCO Grievance Committee 5
pmUA Grievance Committee 6
Hotel and Transportation Committee 700
Line Building Committee 701
Government Affairs 702
Insurance and Retirement Benefits Committee 703
President Shaun McNulty 710
Vice President Kim Montgomery 711
Secretary Pam Caponetti 712
LaVerne Nelson 713
Susannah Carr 714
Directory by name 8

Grievance Issue? Down load the Council 6 EWR App and file a worksheet. Or go to Unitedafa.org, click on Forms, Click on Local Council Worksheet

MEC 847-292-7170

EAP/ Professional Standards
Terry Redwine 973-615-8909
Mary Tyson 908-672-3584
Barbara Vallee 631-664-6564
Concessa Ibanez-Rafuse 201-927-8117
Tracey Selby 727-457-4064
Sandra Marshall 718-930-4184
Deb Gonsales 929-294-5764
Tanisha McCullough 310-703-2896
Charlie Vadnais 954-551-1218
Jimmy Fiallos 917-873-1818

Benefits & Insurance

Amberjoy Brazelton abrazelton@unitedafa.org

Occupational 
Amberjoy Brazelton abrazelton@unitedafa.org
Rose Bompadre rose.bompadre@gmail.com
Rita Pearl  rpearl@unitedafa.org 
Julie Gittle j.gittle@yahoo.com

Insurance & Retirement
Amberjoy Brazelton abrazelton@unitedafa.org
Julianan Petani jxr109@shsu.edu
Tammy Runco trbenefits28@gmail.com
Rita Pearl  rpearl@unitedafa.org 

Communications
Susannah Carr scarr@untedafa.org

Grievance
Freddy Rivera frivera@unitedafa.org
Randy Hatfield rhatfield@unitedafa.org 
Rita Pearl rpearl@unitedafa.org
Kim Montgomery kmontgomery@unitedafa.org
Jay Groth jgroth@unitedafa.org
Chris Callahan ccallahan@untedafa.org
Julie Hill skygoddess51@aol.com

Hotels & Transportation
Michael Desrosiers mdesrosiers@unitedafa.org

Safety

Dazne Cajuste-Webster dcajustewebster@unitedafa.org
Flavia Conty fconty@unitedafa.org
Diedre Ann Dargan ddargan@unitedafa.org
Shaun Christopher Washington swashington@unitedafa.org

Scheduling

Roger Jamerson olsen93@msn.com
Darlene Alexopoulos darlene.alexopoulos@united.com
Steve Ricos sjric@aol.com
Lynne Turney  lynneturney@gmail.com
Shaun Christopher Washington swashington@unitedafa.org
Jenny Horowitz jennyhorowitz@yahoo.com

Government Affairs

Jennifer Ritter jritter@unitedafa.org