Home > News > AFA E-Lines - CALL TO ACTION!


Date: March 19, 2020

PDF Version


Ladies and Gentlemen:


United Airlines is planning for a worst-case scenario. Revenue is plunging and load factors are expected to be in the 20-30% range after drastic cuts to the operation. On Tuesday management announced further cuts to domestic and international flights in the midst of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.  Currently, United has announced a 60% percent schedule reduction for April which includes a 42% reduction in flying for the United States and Canada and an 85% decrease for international flights.  These drastic cuts translate into an even greater reduction in Flight Attendant block hours.


While we are confronted with a rapidly changing situation as the financial implications from this global pandemic continue to escalate, one thing remains unchanged.  We are committed to doing everything we can to best protect you and our Flight Attendant community. We have a fully enforceable contract that provides for us to share in the company’s success but also provides the company with relief during an economic downturn.  


While we wait for definitive information on the business plan moving forward, we are mobilizing in support of legislation that will provide assistance to aviation workers and the industry.  Please join us in fighting for the support our Company desperately needs to survive as Congress begins deliberations on a package of assistance.  We are calling on Congress to act quickly to protect our livelihoods.  Visit our website today for more information on how you can help.



Times are tough.  We are all in this together.  We will get through this together.


The United Master Executive Council

MEC President
MEC Vice President
MEC Secretary-Treasurer




Kim Montgomery

Michael Eric Schwaabe

Scott Pejas

Council 6

Council 7

Council 8




Ken Kyle

Kaitlin White

Dante Harris

Council 9

Council 11

Council 12




Kevin Batey

Michael Warner

William Carico

Council 14

Council 20

Council 25




Kimberly Johnson

Andrew Fahy

Anthony Wetterer

Council 26

Council 27

Council 38




Elizabeth Hibbard

Melinda Beal

Rsei Isim

Council 42

Council 63

Council 65


Share this page:

More News